**6 months Supervised Diet**

Jme-OH
on 2/10/16 6:06 pm

Im new to all of this. My insurance  BCBS of Michigan requires a 6 month supervised diet. My BMI is only a 43, so I can only loose about 12 pounds in the next 6 months in order to still fall under my ins. requirements to qualify for surgery. My question is did anyone not loose weight during this period and get approved. My surgeons office said to just try loose a little and try not to gain. I'm stressing over this. My first PCP appt is next week. Thank you!

(deactivated member)
on 2/10/16 8:00 pm - Uxbridge, MA
VSG on 02/17/16

Just do not gain during that time, and lose weight if you can , it helps shrink your liver

as It helps with surgery and the insurance company only goes by your initial weight, now that you are on a plan followed by a nutritionist, you are doing what is being asked of you to prepare for surgery and insurance will not be affected if your BMI drops... I just learned this myself tonight at a support group meeting... 

Good luck! 

Mandyymariee92
on 2/10/16 8:28 pm
VSG on 03/28/16

Oh my, 6 months? My insurance required a 3 month supervised diet... My last appointment is on the 19th... I missed an appointment and had to start over, but I am almost done! They told me I did NOT have to lose weight, just not to gain.. I've fortunately lost 9lbs though and like mentioned above, this will drop your BMI but will not affect the requirements for surgery because the weight they submit to your insurance is your weight at the time of your consult. I have to stress to you, DO NOT miss any appointments, mine was 3 months, but yours is 6 and it has to be consecutive or they will be voided and you will have to restart. Good luck on your journey!! 

Nycole93
on 11/22/17 4:58 pm