anyone else feel like this

patchoulli
on 1/21/17 4:12 am - port charlotte, FL

My surgery is scheduled February 3rd I'm private-pay. I've been fighting this since I was 10 years old, I can lose weight, I mean 50+ lbs, only to regain time and time again.  The weight makes me feel shame, and invisible, I tend to isolate when I'm heavy, I'm tired of living like this.   My problem is I'm healthy....Yeah I know, that's awful!

I've always been active, I'm a nurse, and I'm raising an 11 year old.   I don't have medical issues other than achy knees when I first get up, I feel shallow and ungrateful that I cannot accept being overweight, the jolly fat person, but I can't. 

I'm on pre op no sugar, no white flour, stopped at my doctor yesterday, down 10 lbs in a week,been reading here, lots of water, no soda, lots of lean protein, it's working!   Does everyone second guess this choice?  My oldest daughter will raise my 11 yo if things don't go well.it bothers me that I'm even willing to do this, I just feel I'm tired of the fight.  Had a failed lap band for 11 weeks, that was 11 years ago, only time in my life I felt full.  Thanx for being here.

Nura777
on 1/21/17 4:43 am

Hi there :) 

As I read your post, I wondered if you ever considered counselling to combat why you feel shame for being overweight.The surgery is a procedure on your stomach and not your mind, there are no guarantees that you will overcome the feelings you have now with weight loss. Although there are wonderful stories of success. There are no guarantees that you or I will be among them, is it worth it? And if so, are you ready to accept the outcome. 

I am a month postop and trying very hard to come to terms with my decision. Like you I was fairly healthy and free of any comorbidities but the weight was slowing me down and I was tired of being fat. I combat the feeling that I exchanged a life that was fairly healthy with one filled with health unknowns.