Take home compression stockings

toofatnopants
on 2/23/17 4:50 am, edited 2/23/17 4:07 pm
VSG on 03/07/17

Has anyone else's surgeon gave them compression stockings to wear at home after surgery?  I had my pre op appt yesterday and everyone was given a pair for home use.  The surgeon seems very proactive about preventing DVT.  My mother passed away in 2003 after a lung biopsy because she had DVT and it led to a pulmonary embolism.  

theAntiChick
on 2/23/17 7:37 am - Arlington, TX
VSG on 08/17/16

I didn't get any.  And even as a nurse, I have always been a little cavalier about DVT with mobile patients because the conventional wisdom had been that if you were able to get up and walk around you weren't really at risk for DVT.

However, I have a niece in law who went to the ER to get stitches for a cut in her thumb and they just happened to notice something off with her heart rate and by the time it was all said and done she was in the ICU with multiple clots in her lungs and over 12" of clots found in her leg.  The breathing problems she'd been having, everyone had been chalking up to her being overweight and her history of asthma.  Come to find out she has 2 gene mutations that put her at super high risk for DVT, and she has to be on blood thinners the rest of her life.  No indication of it until then, but it may be the reason she had multiple miscarriages.

So bottom line, the medical community is just recently starting to learn how common DVT is, and how it has very frequently gone undetected and may have caused many deaths that haven't been attributed to it.  So I took it seriously and took my blood thinner shots after my surgery.  And would have used the compression stockings if they'd been offered or I'd thought about it.