Job interview before surgery

smilingsarahjo
on 9/19/14 12:03 am - Middletown, OH

Hey guys!

I'm in month 2 of my six months supervised diet (insurance requires). I know my insurance covers surgery and that I meet qualifications and that my surgeon is a covered provider. So I'm confident surgery will happen. Just not the timing.

I have a job interview next week and I'm not sure if I should bring up the possibility of surgery then or wait until I am offered a job or wait until I have an actual date/approval? Has anyone had any experience with this? Or any helpful input? Honestly I care more about surgery than a new job and I have a job now, but I don't want to pass up an opportunity!

-Sarah Jo

poet_kelly
on 9/19/14 12:13 am - OH

I would bring it up when it's so far away.  If it was in the next month or two, that would be different.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Mary Gee
on 9/19/14 12:31 am - AZ
VSG on 05/14/14

I wouldn't mention it.  You have at least four months before surgery.  And when the time does come, you just have to say you need surgery - they don't need to know what type of surgery.

But one important thing to consider is insurance - will your coverage change at a new job?  I worked for a company that had great coverage, except for the fact they had a WLS exclusion on their policy.  I was unable to get surgery until my insurance changed.

HW: 380 SW: 324 GW: 175  

smilingsarahjo
on 9/19/14 1:05 am - Middletown, OH

My insurance is through my husbands job so that wont change, thankfully!

Missourimedic
on 9/19/14 2:20 am
VSG on 10/06/14 with