Water weight lesson (a no freak-out zone)

aesposito
on 11/24/15 4:59 am

I mention this to help everyone who has ever posted (or considered posting) a sudden weight-gain freakout post...

I ruptured my appendix Nov. 9.  I came home from the hospital Nov. 15 weighing 21 pounds more than when I arrived.

As of yesterday, 21 pounds gone.

What did I do to get rid of it?  Absolutely nothing, except I relaxed and didn't panic.  Stuck to the basics.  Walk walk walk.  Sip sip sip.  It was impossible to truly gain 21 pounds while eating nothing but IV food.  And it was impossible to lose 21 pounds in less than two weeks. 

What does this have to do with RNY?  Everything.  Don't weigh yourself daily (unless you need to for personal accountability).  Don't freak out over daily or even weekly changes in weight.  And don't panic.

Audrey

Highest weight: 340
Surgery weight: 313
Surgery date: 10/24/11
Current weight 170... 170 pounds lost!!!!

I am not a doctor, but I play one at work.

Laura in Texas
on 11/24/15 5:29 am

I hope you are feeling better, Audrey!!

Laura in Texas

53 years old; 5'7" tall; HW: 339 (BMI=53); GW: 140 CW: 170 (BMI=27)

RNY: 09-17-08 Dr. Garth Davis

brachioplasty: 12-18-09 Dr. Wainwright; lbl/bl: 06-28-11 Dr. LoMonaco

"May your choices reflect your hopes and not your fears."

aesposito
on 11/24/15 5:42 am

I am, thank you Laura!  I even get to go back to work next week!  A 3-week Thanksgiving vacation for me... although not one I'd care to repeat.  I didn't even take that kind of time off for RNY!

Audrey

seattledeb
on 11/24/15 6:19 am

You lost that IV fluid weight fast. I'll bet it feels easier to breathe and stuff.

Glad you are doing better. Do you really have to go back to work so soon?

Deb

aesposito
on 11/24/15 6:27 am, edited 11/23/15 10:28 pm

I am just glad my ankles and waist have shrunk.  My underwear... OMG... I never knew underwear could be so annoying when it's too small.  It squished my stitches and glue and drove me mad.