Newbie w/ H Pylori Question

Naomi S.
on 4/30/16 8:03 pm - Southwest Metro, MN
VSG on 06/03/16

Hello everyone,

I recently completed all of the insurance requirements for WLS, including six months of dietician visits. On Thursday I received a call that my insurance company has approved me! I have my surgeon consult on May 11, but there's a question I'd like to ask before then. 

At my very first appointment at the bariatric center, they did a complete panel of blood tests, and I found out I was positive for H Pylori.  I've been working with a GI doctor since then, and I've been through two courses of treatment for the infection.  I finished my last course of treatment in March, but my GI Doctor won't test me again until May 18.  (I've called twice asking if we can test sooner, and this is the soonest he will allow it.)  

I'm worried that if I still have H Pylori, it will set back my surgery date.  I'm a teacher, so I've planned everything carefully so I could have surgery in June.  

Obviously it will be easier to undergo a third round of treatment before having surgery.  I have no idea what the third course of treatment is, but during the second course I took 160 large pills in 10 days.  I don't think a newly sleeved stomach could handle that!

Is there anyone who's had to undergo a third course of treatment for H Pylori?  If so, how can I expect it to affect the time frame for my surgery?

Thank you!

Naomi 

Naomi

cappy11448
on 4/30/16 8:08 pm

I was diagnosed with H. Pylori in the biopsy of the tissue removed when I had my sleeve.  so I had to do the course of drugs after my sleeve.  They had me wait about 8 to 10  weeks to let my tummy heal before taking the antibiotics.  I think its better to treat it before the surgery, but I managed ok doing it after I was sleeved.

best wishes,

Carol

Surgery May 1, 2013. Starting Weight 385,  Surgery Weight 333,  Current Weight 160.  At GOAL!