Shakes until goal?

chassibi
on 9/19/16 12:40 pm

I'm a newbie, so my opinion doesn't count for much, but I wouldn't even want to depend on 2 shakes a day for 6 months. Like pp's have said, solid protein is really where it's at to stay satisfied!

Consult Weight:276/Surgery Day Weight: 241.6 /Goal Weight: 150

Ruthular
on 9/19/16 1:35 pm
VSG on 06/30/16

I feel the same way! I don't want to rely on shakes, and the NUT looks at me like I'm crazy when I say I feel weak and hungry. 

catwoman7
on 9/19/16 12:52 pm
RNY on 06/03/15

I still drink shakes at over a year out (1-2 per day), but that's because I malabsorb protein and my blood protein levels tank if I don't.  But I'm kind of an unusual case.  If I only needed 60-80 grams of protein, I could definitely get it all through food.

RNY 06/03/15 by Michael Garren (Madison, WI)

HW: 373 SW: 316 GW: 150 LW: 138 CW: 163

Liz WantsHealthForAll
on 9/20/16 3:11 am - Cape Cod, MA
VSG on 03/28/16

Ditto everything here - I had at most one shake a day at your point - dense protein is what fills you up and you should have enough capacity to get the protein in with only one supplementary shake (at most).  I am at 6 months next week and below my doctors goal.

Liz 5'3" HW: 219 SW: 185 GW: 125 LW: 113 Desired maintenance range: 120-123 CW: 120 (after losing 20 lb. regain)!

Deanna798
on 9/20/16 4:45 am
RNY on 08/04/15

I stopped regular shakes at about 3 months.  Now I only have a shake for a treat.  Funny that I think of them that way, but an icy shake is like a treat for me now.

If you plan properly, you can get your protein in with food AND feel satisfied.  

Age: 44 | Height: 5' 3" | Starting January 2015: 291 | RNY 8/4/15 with Dr. Arthur Carlin| Goal: 150

Listen to advice and accept discipline, and at the end you will be counted among the wise. ~Proverbs 19:20

Valerie G.
on 9/20/16 4:52 am - Northwest Mountains, GA