Were you overweight as a child?

Cicerogirl, The PhD
Version

on 9/16/12 6:51 pm - OH
I was a pretty normal sized kid until age 9.  Then, as soon as the very beginnings of puberty hit, I started gaining weight.  By the time I started my Senior year in High School, I weighed 175 pounds (at 5'3"). I dropped a few pounds that year, but then I slowly gained through my 20s and was MO by my 30s.  After a significant life trauma in my mid 30s, I gained about 100 pounds in 18 months or so.  Then I gained another 30 pounds after a second trauma about 3 years before my RNY which put me at a high weight of 332 pounds and a BMI of 57 before I had surgery.

I am 5 years out and have been maintaining at about 15 pounds less than when I graduated from High School 32 years ago.  

Lora

14 years out; 190 pounds lost, 165 pound loss maintained

You don't drown by falling in the water. You drown by staying there.

hopefulstar
on 9/16/12 7:25 pm - MA
RNY on 07/09/12
Yea since around age 4 or 5. I always remember food being the most exciting my entire life

10 lbs lost pre op      

Jeffboutwell77
on 9/16/12 7:26 pm - San Antonio, TX
RNY on 09/18/12
 from age 7 on I struggled with my weight losing it only to quickly gain it back, putting my body through the ringer the most I wieghed was 350 lbs. it makes me laugh when these commercilas like the insanity workout say you can be fit in two months. If no one has been there then they shouldn't say they things like that. struggles can be difficult and obesity is a disease like drug addiction yet we are treated like we are complaicent  and don't even try. a drug addict is offered the gift of rehab all obese people are offerded is the rude statement of, "just push yourself away from the dinner table." I am glad that doctors care enough to take the steps the treat this disease just like it is...

LIFE IS HARD, BUT GIVING UP HAS NO REWARDS!!!

Ladytazz
on 9/16/12 7:37 pm