Question about crushing pills?

sdn2013
on 8/18/13 12:04 am - TX
RNY on 09/04/13 with

I specifically asked my doctor about this as well since I take several pills and he said there was no reason I wouldn't be able to take them even in the hospital.  I asked my Registered Dietician as well and he said the same thing.  They only advised that I might need to slit large pills in half.

poet_kelly
on 8/18/13 12:08 am - OH

And that's what the ASMBS says, as well.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

_nicky_
on 8/18/13 12:59 am - OK
RNY on 06/25/13

I was directed to have chewable forms of meds that were over the size of an m&m for the first six weeks. However, I had some multi vitamins that I wanted to use and a couple times they ended up getting stuck in my stoma and caused me to foam and puke. It sucked. And hurt. So I switched to chewables. I've not had a problem with any of the other pills I take though which are generally smaller. I don't think I could pull off the crushed med thing. Gag. 

5'6"   HW: 297   SW: 274   CW: 194   GW: 135

Total loss: 103 lbs    Surgery loss: 80 lbs    Left to lose: 59 lbs

Katie K.
on 8/18/13 6:46 am - Maitland, FL
RNY on 06/25/13
I started taking a regular multi (whole) around six weeks. I just couldn't stand the chewables any longer.

_nicky_
on 8/18/13 9:04 am - OK
RNY on 06/25/13
I actually love the chewables haha. Glad you found something you like!

5'6"   HW: 297   SW: 274   CW: 194   GW: 135

Total loss: 103 lbs    Surgery loss: 80 lbs    Left to lose: 59 lbs

PetHairMagnet
on 8/18/13 1:22 am
RNY on 05/13/13