reminder about calcium

gtrdyfor50
on 2/12/14 1:23 am
RNY on 10/08/13
Wow, 12 of them a day... I should probably do the same for a couple of months and then re-test. Ferritin was 11 as of last week. I have been down to 3 before and I do NOT want to go there again.

poet_kelly
on 2/12/14 1:26 am - OH

I started taking 12 a day when I had labs done in June and my ferritin was 15.  When I had labs done again in September, it had gone up a little to 26.

12 a day is a lot.  There is a brand called Feosol that you can get at some stores, like CVS, and they have 45 mg per pill so I wouldn't have to take as many, but they are more expensive.  The Sundown Perfect Iron is cheap, plus I frequently find coupons for it.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

gtrdyfor50
on 2/12/14 1:27 am
RNY on 10/08/13
I liked the cheap aspect of it, so it works for me! As long as I can take it all at once, I don't mind the number of them that I have to take.

K. L
on 2/12/14 3:36 am
RNY on 08/20/12

Kelly, I always appreciate your vitamin knowledge, it can be confusing. I've been taking Gentle Iron 25 MG capsuls, which is iron bisglycinate...is this absorbed well? Is that 25 MG elemental iron?

poet_kelly
on 2/12/14 3:40 am - OH

It is elemental iron.  I'm not sure how well it is absorbed though.

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Grim_Traveller
on 2/12/14 12:49 am
RNY on 08/21/12