Hello...and help!

theonlysheresa
on 7/25/11 10:15 am - Carmel, CA
Hello there,

New to the forums but I have a ton of questions.  I really want to get the surgery but - from my calculations under my insruance; at the center of excellence; with the surgeon who takes my insurance - I'm looking at $13,000.

Questions:
Does anyone have Anthem Blue Cross PPO Share 5,000?
Has anyone gotten their surgery done at Good Samaritan Hospital?
What did you have done? How much was the bill (before/after insurance)
Is there a Blue Cross plan out there that I can change to that would make it less out of pocket for me?
Should of asked this first - but where's the "Insurance for Dummies" board? ;)

Many thanks in advance for your advice.

newbarb2
on 7/25/11 12:06 pm
Hi there.  While I didn't have my surgery at Good Samaritan or have Blue Cross PPO, I do benefits for a living.

First of all, to change plans, if you are covered by an employer plan, it has to be open enrollment or you have to have a life changing event.  Most HMO's require less out of pocket than the 13k you are looking at with the PPO.  PPO's offer flexibility but generally cost more out of pocket unless you are married and you are covered under a spouse's plan that allows a sharing of benefits.

I am happy to help but need to know a little more about what plans your employer offers.

Thanks,
Barb

acbbrown
on 7/25/11 1:31 pm - Granada Hills, CA
Go for an HMO. I paid $0 for my surgery (except $8 to park!)

www.sexyskinnybitch.wordpress.com - my journey to sexy skinny bitch status

11/16/12 - Got my Body by Sauceda - arms, Bl/BA, LBL, thigh lift. 

HW 420/ SW 335 /CW 200    85 lbs lost pre-op / 135 post op

~~~~Alison~~~~~

theonlysheresa
on 7/26/11 1:47 am - Carmel, CA
Seriously!! That's simply fantastic.  Can you tell me about your experience? What hospital/surgeon, what was the process like, etc.

Thanks!
amydolphin76
on 7/25/11 8:37 pm - Anaheim, CA
Hello,