I could really use some help with first/next step.

Carol W.
on 7/1/03 1:19 pm - Quaker Hill, ct
I have been reading the posts locally as well as the main board for a few months.I have been thinking about wls for longer than that.Its taken some time to decide I want to move on from reading to actually making a move closer.Now is the time,but I have no idea who to contact first or what to ask.I live in the southeastern part of the state, so I would not be using my own local hospital no matter which doctor I decide to go with.I am a nurse and have been working in the same hospital for the last 21 years,so this is a bit tough on my nerves,not being able to have this surgery with my "comfort" people around.I would like any and all advice from what to do first, doctor choices,to hospitals,to insurance requirements.It seems I am asking alot,but I need the "hand holding" if you will.Feel free to email me if you like.Thanks so much for any help you can offer,and good wishes to all of you.
PookieW2
on 7/1/03 9:25 pm - Milford, CT
Carol, I guess the next step would be for you to start calling some of the doctor's offices. There are long and I mean long waiting lists for just about all of them so it doesn't hurt to call several. They all work a bit differently. Right now I am going with Dr. Bell out of Yale. His office will send you a packet right away with instructions of what to do. After everything is completed then they schedule you for a group consult, then you get a surgery date and then you meet with the doctor individually. There are also monthly support meetings you are welcome to attend pre-and post op. Dr. Reinhold (St. Raphaels) has about a 9 month wait to get a call back. I called him in October and just got a call to go to a informational meeting tonight actually. I don't know how long the wait is from here. This site will help alot. Do you know which kind of surgery you are considering yet? I know there's lots of questions. Feel free to ask.........Linda