Options before WLS for an overwhelmed newbie

(deactivated member)
on 9/25/13 11:43 am - MA

Hello all, newbie here...  I've read these boards so many times over the past few years, but I'm finally admitting I need to do something and I have nobody else to chat with.  I was just diagnosed with Type 2 diabetes.  I am 5'3, 200 lbs, 32 years old.  I am hoping that this can be corrected/reversed with weight loss and diet.  We've been trying to conceive for the last 2 years with no success and the stress of it all has really contributed to my obsession with sugar and carbs...  I feel like I am spiraling out of control right now with my binge eating and I am starting to feel really defeated.

I'm wondering if any of you have any ideas or recommendations  on how to get started.  While I know that WLS is an option, I'm wondering if I could try a few other avenues first.  I'm south of Boston (South Shore/South Coast area)...  Are there any binge eating support groups, therapists, medically assisted weight loss docs in this area that you can recommend?  Or have you had success doing/taking something different?

Any and all ideas are welcome, thanks so much!

cappy11448
on 10/5/13 9:31 pm

Hi,

Many people who are obese find that they can lose weight, but its difficult to maintain the weight loss.  I can't count how many times I've lost 50 pounds only to put them back on at an amazing rate once I go off the diet.  The good thing about weight loss surgery is that people are more likely to keep the weight off. 

Statistics show that only 3 to 5 % of people who lose weight through diet and exercise are able to maintain the weight loss.  For WLS, it is closer to 66 % who can maintain the loss.  You might be one of the 3 to 5%. 

My hospital (and probably most) have Medical Weight Loss programs as well as WLS programs.  You might try that first. 

Best of luck with your weight loss journey.

Carol