Newbie here....need a world of questions answered

artist4life92768
on 1/18/14 2:48 pm, edited 1/20/14 12:24 am - Jackson, MI
VSG on 01/05/15

Hi all! I have a ton of questions and would love some people to chat with.

Some of the questions I have are....

Does anyone have a recommendation of a surgeon who takes Medicaid?

What suggestions do you have that I can start doing on my own to prove to the insurance company that I am serious (diet and excercise related)?

I know that a good letter to the insurance company helps the cause, but are there any other documents/records I should gather?

Any advise would be greatly appreciated!

Thank a bunch, Stacy

itsmelori
on 2/15/14 12:31 am

HI Stacy,  A friend had wls a few months ago and highly recommends Sparrow. Im not quite sure if they take only medicaid as she has medicaid and medicare. It might be worth checking into. She said they have excellent care and support. 

When I had my wls, I had to have approval from a psychiatrist for the insurance co.. He asked the questions to find out how serious I was and gave a letter of recommendation to them for the surgery. The other documents you should submit is any Drs. visits for diets, diet information, weight loss help. Or and names of diet programs you have tried.  I hope this information will help you. ~ Lori

dkennedy89
on 3/26/14 11:37 am - Southfield, MI

Hi Stacy,