A question for everyone ....need advice

sugarcube
on 5/17/12 10:09 am - Canada
 Ok....so as I posted yesterday I got my date. So my question ......when I ask Dr Klein about returning to work he said 3 weeks. I told him I was a nurse and lift people all day in my area of nursing. He didn't seem concerned, also said I could go back to playing ball hockey and baseball. Just concerned that he is not being realistic and wondering if I should advocate for longer length of time off or go back on light duties. Input on your thoughts and experiences would be appreciated.
Thanks
Mimi.  
sam1am
on 5/17/12 10:32 am
I think you'll have a tough time doing heavy lifting at 3 weeks.  I went back after a week,, but no lifting and I don't think I'd have been ready at 3 weeks out. 

Sandy                                           

"The best way to cheer yourself up is to try to cheer somebody  else up"                     

Mark Twain                                                       LW-Apple-Gold-Small.jpg image by PlicketyCatAnimation One      

cayleighsmom
on 5/17/12 10:40 am
RNY on 06/05/12
i met with my surgeon yesterday, Dr.Sullivan, and he pretty much told me the same thing.  He said by 3 weeks post-op, i would be able to return to all activites, he said what ever you are doing today you can do then.  I was a little surprized, i would have thoguth that it would a take a little longer than that for everything to heal.
Heathergetbetter
on 5/17/12 10:45 am - Trenton, ON, Canada
RNY on 05/02/12
I'm an RPN and Dr. Klein said I should be off for 6 weeks. He filled out my work papers to that too. My surgery was May 2nd and my expected return date is June 16th. My occupational health office has been in touch with me too. He also wrote approximatley on the return date, allowing for some wiggle room. I work in a hospital on the CCC/IPU floor.

Hope that helps. Another nurse with the same surgery on the same floor was off for 8 weeks.