First Post

jlynn1025
on 4/17/13 12:20 am

This is my first post.  I'm a Lehigh Valley resident.  I'm considering VSG or DS.  I can't find a local surgeon who will perform DS.  I'd have to travel to Warminster to have that surgery.  I'm considering Dr. Holland for the VSG.  Has anyone had him as a surgeon?  My insurance doesn't require the 6 month pre-op process and neither does he.  Can anyone tell me what his process will be like?  My BMI is 41.6, and the DS sounds very attractive, but I'm not sure its necessary to make the drive for the surgery if VSG will work with a highly regarded local surgeon.  Any tips or input would be greatly appreciated.

jastypes
on 4/17/13 6:21 am - Croydon, PA

I'm sorry, but I am completely ignorant about both the VSG and DS surgeries!  I went about it by finding a surgeon first, and chose Barix for several reasons, and then listened to that surgeon's recommendation for me, which was to have the RNY.  Sorry I'm not more help.  Hopefully some others will jump in here.

Blessings, Jill

WLS 5/31/07.  Maintaining a weight loss of 141 pounds and feeling amazing!

musicaldonna
on 4/17/13 8:52 am - PA

OH should have a board for VSG and DS.  You might be able to get information from there.  I had an RNY 4 years ago.  Sorry that I can't answer any of your questions.  Just wanted to welcome you to the board.  Please keep us posted about your WLS journey.  Take care.

Donna

Patricia R.
on 4/18/13 4:00 am - Perry, MI

I am not familiar with either surgery either.  I was interested in the Lap Band or RNY, and after meeting with Dr. Marymor at Barix, I went with RNY.  I am very happy with it, and just love Dr. Marymor.  

Good Luck,

Trish

Seek always to do some good, somewhere. Every man has to seek in his own way to realize his true worth. You must give some time to your fellow man. For remember, you don't live in a world all your own. Your brothers are here too.
Albert Schweitzer

CSerwalt
on 4/19/13 10:30 am - Philadelphia, PA