Looking for Philadelphia (area) program recommendations

AnnyBananny
on 5/13/13 2:16 am - PA
RNY on 03/18/14

I'm just beginning the road to bariatric surgery. Living in Philadelphia, there are so many programs to pick from. I've attended an informational session at Jeff and am scheduled for sessions at Temple, Hahnemann, Einstein, and Penn - how overwhelming.

Do any of the Philly-area folks have thoughts? Why did you choose the program you went with over another?

Thanks!

jeterway
on 5/13/13 3:13 am
I went with the program at Pennsylvania Hospital which is now part of Penn. That hospital was very convenient for me and all of my other health issues were handled there so it seemed like the logical choice. I have since been dealing with many docs at Penn and find that to be an even better experience. I would recommend finding out as much info as possible before making a decision. My procedure was open which I didn't think much about at the time, but in retrospect, I would rather of had laparoscopic surgery. I am still very active in support groups and really enjoy some of the new friends I have made at Penns support groups.

jastypes
on 5/13/13 5:31 am - Croydon, PA

I LOVE BARIX!!!  Whis is located in Langhorne PA.  They have an excellent surgeon, wonderful care, they are specifically a bariatric treatment center, AND they have phenomenal after-care programs like support groups, nutrition counseling, and they even have a Zumba class there once a week.  I am almost 6 years out, and still take advantage of their support services.  I cannot recommend them highly enough.

Blessings, Jill

WLS 5/31/07.  Maintaining a weight loss of 141 pounds and feeling amazing!

Patricia R.
on 5/13/13 12:19 pm - Perry, MI