I am a newbie and surgery is next Tuesday!!!

tamtully71
on 8/10/11 7:23 am
I am newbie here on the Texas forum.  I am having my RNY next Tuesday the 16th.  I am a little nervous and this liquid diet is rough... I now see that my life has always revolved around food!  It is strange sitting here thinking that I will no longer be able to indulge myself during family events...  My family has always gathered together over a meal so it is going to be very different when I go to visit them at Christmas, but my mom says that she will cook a small meal and they are so supportive of my decision.  I am having my surgery at Darnall Army Medical Center and Dr. Mcdermott is my surgeon(I think I spelled his name right) I was just wandering if it is normal to feel sad and scared, because I am a little down, but when I think of myself healthier it perks me up... I have diabetes, high bloodpressure, and cholesterol problems... I am insulin dependant and that is something I hope will change!!!  I see all the before and after pictures and I am so inspired.  My husband and I have been at Ft. Hood a little over a year and I have made 1 friend... I am a recluse partly because of my weight and the fact that I give out easily when it comes to doing things outdoors.  I am hoping and praying that this tool will help me to become the person that I have always felt I was on the inside...
Karla Lewis
on 8/10/11 11:08 am - Livingston, TX
What you are feeling is perfectly normal. Congrats on choosing to take control of your health. You will be so glad you had the surgery. Hope it goes well and you have an easy recovery.

Karla

Karla Lewis     337/194/175
Lap RNY 1-23-2006     Dr. Terry Scarborough   Houston, TX
Lipo 4-27-2007           Dr. David Wainwright      Houston, TX
LBL 11-13-2007           Dr. David Wainwright      Houston, TX
BL & brachioplasty  7-18-2008       Dr. David Wainwright    Houston, TX

Vivian Prouty
on 8/10/11 9:28 pm - Fort Worth, TX