New to this

newbutterfly84
on 3/31/11 11:00 am - VA
with

I am new to this. I am thinking about having the Gastric Sleeve, but I am very nervous and not sure if I should do it. I was wondering if anyone out there could give me some tips or information about the gastric sleeve. Any information will be very helpful. Thank you :) 

caroline2622
on 4/1/11 1:20 pm - Woodbridge , VA
VSG on 09/30/08 with
I am 2.5 years out and am very happy with my vertical steeve gasterectomy.     I feel for the most part very normal.  Friends with RNY and Band seem to have show issues during eating.  I have minor issues... Dry items I tend to sneeze, otherwise no one has any notice of me at a dinner table,  All surgeries we do not eat and drink at the same time.    The only comment I get now is when I eat out and order a regular meal and do not eat miuch of it.. People think I did not like my meal.  

Please keep in mind all of these WLS's have their issues.  They are only a tool.  We all have to make like changes,  

Not sure where in VA you live.    Check out hospitals of Bariatric of excellance. They have support and informational meet the surgeons.  Do you research ..  It is not just about a good surgeon but a great team of nutrionists, anestestiologist and hospital care team.  

Good luck and keep in touch

lost 140 lbs     

Extended TT 12/072009     Plastic Surgeon Mitchell Krieger                     
newbutterfly84
on 4/1/11 1:34 pm, edited 4/1/11 1:38 pm - VA
with