Dr Pleatman

jmedpm
on 9/7/11 7:48 am - OH
Hi, my mother is scheduled with Dr Pleatman in Michigan for a VSG tomorrow.   I had the procedure done about 7 weeks ago and am having concerns.  He does not do a leak test, no drain and discharge in 24 hours.  Also, she will be in a car for quite a long drive shortly after and he is not concerned about blood clots (I'm a doctor and I am scared to death of this). Any have any good or bad experiences with Dr Pleatman??  Advise please!

SleeveRockn Chic
on 9/7/11 7:55 am
 Did you check out this page on OH............http://www.obesityhelp.com/profiles/bariatric-surgeon/dr-mar k-pleatman/   I hope it helps you.  I personally would be concerned about the leak test. I thought it was standard with this procedure, maybe not. Maybe your mom could request one while in hospital.  I was released after 24 hours, my ins. paid for outpatient.  Also I did not have a drain.  As far as the car ride I would say stop every so often so she can get out and move around a little and get the blood flowing.  Good luck.  Kerry

LilySlim Weight loss tickers  
 HW: 365lbs.  SW:353  CW:182.4  GW:160 lbs.
Goal 1: Get under 300 (Reached as of 11/15/2011 299.4 Baby) 
Goal 2- Get under 200 (Reached as of 08/29/2012 199.2 Baby) 
Goal 3- Get to 160

Birdie55
on 9/7/11 8:05 am
I had surgery with Dr Cirangle, who is one ofthe top VSG surgeons in the US.  He does not do a leak test, use drains and discharges usually in 24 hours.  He told me that a leak usually occurs within 30 days and is because of improper eating.  He does oversew the top and bottom where a leak is more prone to occur....

Your mother's guidelines sound fine to me.  

Ht 5' 4  SW 181  GW 120 - 125  Age 61  CW 130

Edit   Delete          

jmedpm
on 9/7/11 8:07 am - OH
 Dr Pleatman doesn't over sew, but thanks for your response.

emelar
on 9/7/11 8:10 am - TX
I've seen his name on the forum often and people speak highly of him.