Newbie Here...Pre-op diet is HARD!!

sunshine777
on 6/6/12 1:30 pm
VSG on 06/12/12
Hello all, this is my first time posting hope I do this right. I have been approved and scheduled for surgery 06/12/12. I am currently on the Optifast shake diet. This is hard! We just returned from Disneyland and on the long drive home my family was snacking on chips, candy, soda, and McDonald's. It was so hard not to just grab some of my kids fries and devour them. I am trying to convince myself I am not hungry and food is my enemy. I am having a hard time fighting the temptation to just scarf down some food which makes me doubt I will be able to stick to a diet after surgery.
Calking
on 6/6/12 1:42 pm
VSG on 05/31/12
I am now 6 days post op.  I was on the Optifast diet as well.  I was told that if I needed to cheat I could eat some celery or sugar free jello or sugar free popsicles or even cucumbers.  Of course the cucumbers are the highest caloric item on that list.

I found that after 4 days on the Optifast diet I had lost the recommended weight for surgery  ... I was down 13 pounds at that point.  Only needed to loose 11.  A few days after that I actually did have some celery and sugar free jello.

You didn't mention how long you have been on the Optifast diet but I will tell you that after the first 2 or 3 days I found it wasn't all that bad.  I just kept thinking that it was all going to allow the surgery to proceed and that the end results will be worth it.  As of day 4 post op and from my initial weigh in just about 2 weeks before surgery ... I have already lost 21 pounds.  I am feeling so much better every day.