Sleeved Tuesday...questions/impressions

HEATHER H.
on 8/9/12 10:27 pm - SC
VSG on 08/07/12
 I was sleeved Tuesday with Dr. Ortiz in TJ. Overall, my experience has been ok and I seem to be recovering normally. However, I would say the post-op instructions have been pretty vague and I'm wondering if I'll get any more/better info. at discharge from care tomorrow. One of my concerns is with the post-op antibiotic. I was prescribed an antibiotic with instructions to take daily for one week. However, the bottle only contains enough for 5 days. When one of the ladies in our group asked about the additional 2 days, she was told she could purchase an additional bottle for $60. Really?? That seems shady to me. Did everyone else take post-op antibiotics and, if so, how long? All things considered, I wouldn't say I regret my decision. Dr. Ortiz has a great reputation as a surgeon. Still, the lack of post-op info., etc. has me feeling a little vulnerable. Thank God I'm a nurse and have done my own research so I at least feel that I know the signs/symptoms of general post-op complications, etc. Anyone else have any similar experience/advice? 
FloridaVSG
on 8/10/12 4:04 am - FL
VSG on 07/16/12
I wasn't prescribed antibiotics at all... Had my surgery here, in Florida. Post-op instructions are KEY for your safety and recovery. You need to know his to eat, how to break down the stages, etc... Inquire, and if you get nothing let us all know and we will share with you.
Pre-op/HW: 302- SW (7/16/2012): 296 lbs- GW: 160-150 lbs. Month 1: -32 lbs.- Month 2: -16 lbs.
www.theskinnygirlinsideofme.blogspot.com  

rosiebaby1
on 8/10/12 5:05 am - PA
      my surgery was done at the barix clinic in Pennsilvania and I wasn't prescribed antibiotics either only while i was there with the iv.
Marena G.
on 8/10/12 5:56 am - LA
VSG on 07/16/12
I was never prescribed antibiotics here in New Orleans either. 

LindaDarnell B.
on 8/10/12 6:19 am
VSG on 08/07/12