Is this possible??

jnicole79
on 2/27/13 8:10 pm - IL
VSG on 05/10/13

Hi everybody!  I'm a newbie.  I just had my evaluation yesterday.  I was on the fence between the ds and the sleeve.  My surgeon and I decided on the sleeve.  He said that since I want to have kids the sleeve would be best because of the malabsorbtion with the ds.  He feels I would be more successful with the the ds though.  I have almost 200lbs to lose.  My question: Is losing that much weight possible with the sleeve?  I know I can convert to a ds later but I would rather not have to have 2 surgeries. I also posted the question in the ds forum about the safety of getting pregnant after ds surgery.  I know the surgery is a tool so I have to do the work but 200lbs is a lot so i want to make sure I'm making the right choice.  Thanks for any comments or opinions!

Mom4Jazz
on 2/27/13 8:26 pm

Yes, it's very possible. Many of us have done it!

Highest weight: 335 lbs, BMI 50.9
Pre-op weight: 319 lbs, BMI 48.5
Current range: 140-144, BMI 21.3 - 22

175+ lbs lost, maintaining since February 2012

jnicole79
on 2/27/13 8:32 pm - IL
VSG on 05/10/13

Thank you!

sleevegirl
on 2/27/13 8:50 pm - Austin, TX

Possible? YES!

A lot of work? Yes, but as much as I hear the DS folks screaming they don't work that hard, the side effects and the vitamin requirements immediately put that out as a solution for me, to be frank.

It's an individual thing. I work hard on my mental and physical stuff and I'm down 212 so far. 13 more to go :)

Candy from Austin, TX  |   Website  |  MyFitnessPal  |  My OH Blog

5'6" / HW 375 / SW 355 / CW 150 / Maintaining 155-159 - Goal Reached! 225 Pounds Lost

jnicole79
on 2/27/13 8:54 pm - IL
VSG on 05/10/13

Wow congrats!

Bella_Fein
on 2/27/13 8:54 pm - TX
VSG on 02/18/13