ridiculously delicious shakes

sleevicidal_maniac
on 3/26/13 10:10 pm

I'm sure this is no secret, but I thought I'd throw out a couple ideas for you guys trying to add a little variety. I have been starting my day with a protein shake for breakfast for several months. But, like everything else, it gets old quickly. I went with a new twist and found a simple thing that makes them AWESOME!

So, I start at Costco (BJs, Sam's, etc...) and I always have a big old bag of vanilla and chocolate protein powder. I use a regular blender. I buy Blue Diamond Almond Breeze almond/coconut milk in original and chocolate. In my regular grocery store, I buy the old bananas for about 25c a bunch. I take the bananas, peel them, cut them into small pieces and freeze them. And finally, when I make coffee in the morning, I make a 12 cup pot and keep the last half in the fridge. Using these ingredients, I have come up with a few awesome shakes that are pretty lean on calories, rich in protein and delicious.

Mocha (~200 cals)

4oz cold coffee

4oz chocolate almond milk

1 scoop chocolate protein powder

1/2 cup ice

Pina Colada (~250 cals)

about 1/2 cup of frozen bananas

8oz almond/coconut milk

a few pieces of fresh pineapple

1 scoop of vanilla protein powder

(no ice - the banana makes the smoothest, thickest shake ever!)

Chocolate Banana smoothie (~350 cals)

1/2 cup frozen banana

8oz chocolate almond milk

1 scoop of chocolate protein powder

the chocolate milk is 120-130 cals per 8oz

the almond/coco milk is 60 cals per 8oz

coffee is calorie free

bananas have about 100 cals per small banana, I use about half

my protein powder is about 130ish per scoop