starvation mode

great.lakes.girl.
on 8/10/13 7:06 am, edited 8/10/13 8:22 am
how many of you believe in starvation mode . the nurse at my doctor's office tells me I am not losing because I'm in starvation mode. I am 10 weeks out and I eat between 400 and 800 calories normally around 600. I keep carbs between 20 and 40. I have been fluctuating between loosing 30 to 35 pounds for the last two months.<br />
<br />
All advice and comments are welcome thank you in advance.<br />
<br />
P.s. I exercise 5 days a week by walking and I get in all my water
(deactivated member)
on 8/10/13 7:17 am

I think it's total BS. End of subject.

If starvation mode truly existed the way it is touted (you don't eat enough so your body won't lose weight)  by some people how could people actually starve to death? I thought people who were actually starving lost weight until their organs shut down and they died.

600-800 calories a day with 80-100 grams of good quality protein is not going to cause you to starve or your body to cannibalize its muscle tissue and organ tissue.

mickeymantle
on 8/10/13 8:07 am - Eugene/Springfield, OR
VSG on 07/22/13

don't believe in it

and if your losing 30-35 lb a month your losing 1 lb a day thats a lot

175 lb  lost,412 hw 336sw,241 cw surgery July 22 2013,surgeon Dr Colin MacColl,

RPick67
on 8/10/13 8:34 am
VSG on 06/11/13

Starvation mode is an Urban Legend.  Stalls and slower losers is a reality.  If your 10 weeks out and you've lost 30lbs then your averaging 3pds. a week.  That's a pretty good average as far as I am concerned.  Slow and steady wins the race.  You don't mention your daily protein intake but hope it is bare minimum 60 grams.  Give it time.

Cons. Wt. 394       Surg. Wt. 386        Curr. Wt.  311

Calking
on 8/10/13 8:45 am
VSG on 05/31/12

As everyone else said ... starvation mode is definitely a myth.

Here is an earlier post with more thoughts on this myth ...