What happens if your stomach pouch expands post op??

Rossolino
on 10/13/13 6:30 am

Hi, I am studying the various WLS options trying to define which one is right for me (I'm new at this). 

I read that one of the problems with the Sleeve is that after a while, the stomach pouch expands, and you can again eat "normally" thus gain back the weight... 

Has this happened to anyone?

If this were the case, can you get a "reoperation"? to again reduce the size of the stomach? 

Can the sleeve been transformed into some other form of surgery, if needed?

Just trying to assess all scenarios, even the worst case ones.

Thank you

mickeymantle
on 10/13/13 10:35 am - Eugene/Springfield, OR
VSG on 07/22/13

you really have to eat really bad to stretch your sleeve out

my surgeon said it starts out around 4 oz and after around 1 year stretches to about 8 oz

before surgery it is normal to be 32 oz or more

also the hunger hormone is much reduced , and most  people feel little or no hunger

if you do stretch you sleeve most of the time it can be fixed , with surgery  or revised to a ds 

the sleeve has the least side effects of all the surgery and about the same weight loss as the rny, a little less than the ds

and much more the the lap band , read the revision forum if you are thinking about a band it is full of horror stories

the poach in the rny is more likely to stretch  than the sleeve in the vsg or ds and the malabsorption of cal in the ds and rny stop working in about 1- 11/2 years but you still keep the malabsorption  of nutrients      

the surgery for the sleeve is also much safer and is my surgeons preferred surgery for heavy weights

175 lb  lost,412 hw 336sw,241 cw surgery July 22 2013,surgeon Dr Colin MacColl,

lucy2e
on 10/13/13 11:19 am - Laurel, MD