Conference is tomorrow with bariatrician.

josiemorehouse
on 10/23/13 1:11 am - Villa Rica, GA

Hubby's going with me, yay.

I've been absent for a couple weeks, I've been crazy busy, but I posted not too long ago.  Of course I'm still a newbie, but I have everything lined up for what I hope to be my upcoming VSG tales of success.

I have my medical history being mailed to me from my previous physician (since I have moved recently, I have to get it all mailed to me).  My family doctor has (recently) diagnosed me with hypertension, high cholesterol, hypothyroidism, and vitamind D and iron-deficient anemia.  I'm on all kinds of fun medicines.  I've also been battling depression for years, due to weight issues, so I've been on antidepressants for a while.

My doc has me monitoring calories, doing high-fiber, low sugar, low fat, low cholesterol eating (which is so much fun), but she wants me to wait 3 months to see how my blood work comes back after being on the meds.  Hrm.  Not sure about that, because my insurance does require 6 months of gung-ho dieting with documented visits with doc every month, so we'll see.  I'm tracking my blood pressure, checking it 3 times a day, and it's still up there, but not as bad with the lisinopril.  I'm still hovering between the 39-41 BMI range, but I have the comorbidities that will qualify me with my insurance.

So at the conference tomorrow, aside from telling me what to expect from surgery, I'm curious to what else goes on.  They ask me to bring my insurance card and photo ID, and I always have that in tow.  I'm not sure what to expect, outside of listening to doctors tell me all about the surgeries and what to expect (during/after surgery).  Any experiences would be great.  For anyone in/around the Atlanta area, I'm attending the conference from the Atlanta Medical Center Bariatric Surgery group's seminar tomorrow in Douglasville.  :)

Thanks for listening.

mickeymantle
on 10/23/13 1:34 am - Eugene/Springfield, OR