When di you tell your work?

joconnor0922
on 3/30/14 10:03 pm

Hi,

I have my surgery date now and was wondering when everyone usually let work know? Also did you tell your work what you were having done? It sounds like I will most likely need 4 weeks off from work due to the lifting requirement. I'm a nurse and there is no option for light duty which would have allowed me to go back sooner. They are not going to be happy about my absence and I don't know if it's better to tell them closer to the actual date-more of an emergent surgery than just telling them now. My immediate supervisor is a big mouth and if she knows what surgery I'm having done, everyone will know. I have only told the people that are going to be my support system and don't plan on telling anyone else right now. I'm wondering if I can just say it's personal and leave it at that.

joconnor0922
on 3/30/14 10:04 pm

Sorry- title is supposed to read- When did you tell your work?

FindingMyWeigh
on 3/30/14 11:22 pm, edited 3/30/14 11:23 pm
VSG on 10/30/13

You can tell them as little as you want, or as much as you want. That's a personal decision. If you know you're going to get flack from your co-workers for being off for 4 weeks due to your surgeon's instructions, I doubt they care exactly what your reason is for taking medical leave. All they know is that they are going to have to re-work the shift schedule. I'm sure you've pitched in for your co-workers in the past, so I wouldn't dwell on it too much.

You already know your boss is going to reveal your personal information so I personally wouldn't confide in her. Keep your explanation simple: you have a medical condition and your physician has placed you on light duty activities for the next month. If she wants details, I would just say that you feel uncomfortable talking about because it's a bit personal, but thank her for her concern and reassure her that you're looking forward (heh) to returning to work at the earliest opportunity.