Issues are coming to the forefront...psychological crap

trinoc
on 5/6/14 7:05 pm - TN
VSG on 01/14/14

I've been processing this for a few days and decided it's time to share.  I'm open to thoughts and advice.  I don't want this to derail me before I'm even really started!

I am a chemist at a plant that has a workforce mostly made up of men.  About half of my schedule is working by myself, in the lab, on the nightshift.  The men bring samples to me all night long.  Interaction has always been lighthearted and quick.  Until recently, that is.  Last week I dyed my hair and got a little nuts.  So, now I'm no longer a blonde, I'm a redhead.  And I'm obviously a lot thinner than I was but no where near thin.  I will admit that my face is looking a lot better and the hair really does work with my complexion.  But since the new hair I've gotten a lot of unwanted, unsolicited attention.  Words like ******y, blah blah blah.  But the worst of all was a man actually touching my hair (TOUCHING IT!  And me....I don't like to be touched) and saying he's always loved redheaded women.  You know what I wanted to do?  Eat a cinnamon roll, eat chips, order pizza, drink a Dr. Pepper, go to McDonalds.  I'm not kidding, in one comment this man had me contemplating every single bad habit that got me to obese in the first place. 

I have no idea where this comes from.  I don't know what it is about attention, good or bad, that makes me think that I need to fatten up to avoid it.  But, there it is.  I did not know I had this issue but I do.  Something that will be discussed w/ my therapist at our very next meeting. 

Tricia

M1 -26, M2 -14, M3 -14, M4 -12, M5 -12, M6 -11, M7 -10, M8 -12, M9 -5, Goal Reached 9 months and 14 days

Chrissy W.
on 5/6/14 7:41 pm - Indianapolis, IN
VSG on 07/01/13