Talking to your employer about leave of absence...and how long did you take?

(deactivated member)
on 2/7/16 1:26 pm
VSG on 12/17/15

I took 3 weeks, first week was on pto (which I had none of so I just didn't get paid that week ouch) and the next two on short term disability. I am going to go against the crowd and say even with a desk job (I work as an insurance agent in a call center) I needed the 3 weeks. Only about 9 days for pain and healing but the rest of it was to learn how to eat/drink properly and not get stressed out and make sure I wa****ting liquid goals and how to structure eating times etc. Yes physically I could have gone back after a week but mentally I needed the full 3 weeks. I was entirely (and still am) open with bosses/coworkers about my surgery. I am a pretty open person in general and I knew people would question my rapid-ish weight loss anyway. Besides I am not ashamed and I actually encouraged a coworker to look into it and the cards just happened to fall in her favor and she got to have her surgery 4 days after mine so we both got in before the end of the year when out of pocket max/deductibles were met and had minimal cost to us. We're surgery sisters her and I; same hospital/surgeon 4 days apart. She's followed me through food stages and we share advise between each other. This surgery really is a life saver and while of course it will not fix your problems (it's not magic of course) it has helped me gain new self love and acceptance I never had before. Instead of negative self thoughts I am amazed with myself and what my body can do, I am so very happy. Good luck!

hollykim
on 2/7/16 4:17 pm - Nashville, TN
Revision on 03/18/15
On February 7, 2016 at 2:30 PM Pacific Time, ejirish wrote:

Sorry if I'm "over posting"... just trying to get real life advice for these things!

So, my paperwork came yesterday and my "tentative" surgery will be in May! YAYYY!