Maintenance

steve D.
on 4/12/11 4:48 am - West Fargo, ND
I find myself struggling with the concept of maintenance.  I have always been kind of an "all or nothing" person.  So when I had the surgery, I followed the doctor's orders quite well.  I lost a little over 100 pounds in six months.  

Now, at 15 months, I have gained about 5 pounds.  The doctor said this was bounce back and not to be concerned.  Easy for him to say.  I am concerned.

My question to all you out there who have experienced this, how do you wrap your arms around the concept of maintenance?  How do you keep from drifting back to unhealthy behaviors in regards to eating.

I appreciate your willingness to share what you are doing.  Thanks ahead of time.

Steve

cherryblossoms
on 4/12/11 4:57 am
  I'm a newbie RNY, but I'm interested to read the responses you get Steve.
Congrats on your weight loss.

Lorna

Sue C
on 4/12/11 5:07 am - Fargo, ND
Steve-
Wish I knew the answer for you.  I also have a 5 lb bounce back.  Doesnt matter if you are 15 months like yourself, or 5+ years for me.  It is always a concern.  I am about to go back to basics for awhile as my son is getting married end of May.

I will keep checking back to see responses.

~ Sue ~

257/162/150

Renee2007
on 4/12/11 5:26 am - Central, FL
 A little bit of bounce back is normal. It's finding the happy medium that is the trick. I am 3 years out and what works for me is setting a high point that I won't allow myself to go over. If I see myself approaching that number then I know I have to cut back on carbs. It's the carbs that ultimately cause you regain. My range is only 5 pounds so it never gets out of hand for me. It's a lot easier to scale back 5 pounds than it is 40.

Renee
 My DS   
SW/263  CW/136 GW/150

MyLady Heidi
on 4/12/11 5:53 am