A Stapling question ?

Tenacious88
on 1/1/12 3:58 am - Fort Lauderdale, FL
VSG on 02/05/14

Happy New Year to all.

Just something I've been thinking about, what are the staples made of, metal, plastic or other materials? What happens to the staples after you recover, do they melt away like sutures or do they stay in place forever? If they melt away or fall off do they stay inside your body forever? I know sutures dissolve causing no harm to the patient, but what about the staples.

I was a professional automotive trouble shooter for 40 years, working for General Motors and Goodyear. I am now retired, but during my time in the automotive business I saw and used many different tools some preformed well others failed. This brings me back to the stapler surgeons are using during WLS, are they the best or are they the cheapest the hospitals can buy, think about it?

ruggie
on 1/1/12 4:03 am - Sacramento, CA
 They are titanium, and are nonreactive. Your body will simply heal over the staples and you'll have them embedded in your tissue the rest of your life. Titanium is non-paramagnetic so they won't be an issue either if you need an MRI scan. 

Given that surgeons are extremely finicky about the tools they use, I would imagine they are using the highest quality staplers ( and passing the ost along to us and our insurance). They want everything to be as optimal as possible. 

Heaviest weight:  310 pounds  (Male, 5'10")

Bette B.
on 1/1/12 4:36 am
 Aw, man. They don't use a Swingline?
Stapler

Banded 10 years & maintaining my weight loss!! Any questions, message me.

MutteringDuck
on 1/1/12 4:38 am - CT
eh, just for skin closure.  those are too bulky to fit in laparoscopic incisions!
Tenacious88
on 1/1/12 8:19 am - Fort Lauderdale, FL
VSG on 02/05/14
Hi: But we can try!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Happy 2012
Tenacious88
on 1/1/12 8:09 am - Fort Lauderdale, FL
VSG on 02/05/14
Hi: Good for paper, but not for WLS, ha, lol.