Anti-inflammatory drugs after RNY??

catasteams
on 4/15/13 8:59 pm - Big Lake, MN

I have severe ostoearthritis in my right knee with much inflammation and edema in the joint.  Is there any anti-inflammatory medication that I can take after RNY? I am taking vicodin for the pain, but that does nothing for the inflammation.  I had my RNY in Dec 09 and lost over 100#, hoping that it would slow down the arthritis in my knees.  Alas, NOT!!

Anyone with any info, I would appreciate it.  Thanks

H.A.L.A B.
on 4/15/13 9:13 pm
steroids - injections in the joins.

Hala. RNY 5/14/2008; Happy At Goal =HAG

"I can eat or do anything I want to - as long as I am willing to deal with the consequences"

"Failure is not falling down, It is not getting up once you fell... So pick yourself up, dust yourself off, and start all over again...."

poet_kelly
on 4/15/13 9:45 pm - OH

Yep, steroids.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

(deactivated member)
on 4/15/13 9:49 pm

Personally I would take tons of Vitamin C  D and E .  And i would try to rest it .. stay off my feet 2 heal at least one or two dayz a week , then dance around ON my legs 14 hourz a day the rest of the time .  

Legz R made to WORK no matter what injury ... our bodies R amazing .  Still if it actually HURTZ  when I stand and walk its MY cue to SIT DOWN.