Mayo Clinic and Emory in Atlanta No Longer Banding!

MARIA F.
on 6/19/13 4:54 pm - Athens, GA

That's right. As of the last month or 2 these have terminated their banding program. They will still fill/unfill, but they will no longer place a lapband!

So I was just wondering..........has this trend continued in your areas???

FormerlyFluffy.com

poet_kelly
on 6/19/13 11:11 pm - OH

I"m glad to hear this and hope others follow suit.  I don't understand why any surgeon is doing a band or why insurance pays  for it when it has such a high complication and failure rate.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

MARIA F.
on 6/20/13 5:46 am - Athens, GA

Well I know that at the OH conference in Atl. in 2012 ALL the bariatric surgeons that spoke there were very disapointed with band results to say the least. They were open and honest about their views of how dismal lapband results have been long term because of their high complication rate. Though I think all were still doing them, they quoted numbers from the years before with drastic drops in implants. As to why the ethical Drs. still do them..............that's a good question. I think the reason is that some insurances require them to do so. For instance, I heard with TriCare that for a Dr. to be on their approved list they have to offer 3 of the 4 major WLS's.

FormerlyFluffy.com

MARIA F.
on 6/22/13 10:10 am - Athens, GA

You know I can understand why some Drs. still do it. Some are more concerned about finances than patient health, but it is shocking that insurance companies continue to pay for bands!!!

FormerlyFluffy.com

loverofcats
on 6/20/13 1:58 am