stomach removal through bellybutton??

Laguerita13
on 6/30/13 4:49 am - Morristown, TN
My surgeon told me he makes 5 incisions for lap vsg. And that he removes the stomach through the bellybutton. I do not want an incision in my bellybutton. can i request it be taken out and another place??

poet_kelly
on 6/30/13 4:53 am - OH

Well, you can request it, but I would assume he takes it out wherever it is easiest to take it out.  He may or may not agree to alter the surgical procedure that he believes is safest and most effective.  Why would you want him to do it differently, if that's the way he believes is best?

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

Laguerita13
on 6/30/13 5:06 am - Morristown, TN
I personally have a very deep bellybutton. I am afraid of it not healing or having constant drainage because of the fact that it wont heal. Again i am afraid of infection because since my BB is deep it is a dark, moist place perfect for infection to set up. i would be more comfortable with an incicion above my BB instead of in my BB. The scar doesnt matter to me.

poet_kelly
on 6/30/13 5:26 am - OH

That would be something to discuss with the surgeon.  I'm sure he doesn't make an incision in the belly button in cases in which he think it would be likely to lead to infection.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

VSG on 06/12/13