2.5 weeks post-op NOT losing

DeeNY52
on 12/13/13 7:28 pm

I'm concerned- my surgery was 2.5 weeks ago and I'm on soft food, eating chicken breast, yogurt and applesauce, pureed squash, finely chopped eggs.  No cheating and I have only lost 6 lbs since my surgery!  I do have protein shakes to get in the protein and I'm not hungry, but I am also not losing.  Is it age?  I'm 61.  Everyone says you lose the most in the first month which has me worried.

poet_kelly
on 12/13/13 11:03 pm - OH

You say you're not losing but you've lost six pounds.  That is losing.  My surgeon said to expect to lose three to five pounds per week in the beginning so it sounds like you are right on track to me.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

DeeNY52
on 12/13/13 11:10 pm

Thanks, Kelly.  I read about people who have lost 20 lbs in their first week and I wonder what I'm doing wrong.  Thanks for the encouragement. Dee

poet_kelly
on 12/13/13 11:11 pm - OH

Most people don't lose 20 lbs in a week, though.  It sounds like you're doing fine.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

simonleblonde
on 12/14/13 4:03 am

Very, very, very few people lose 20 lbs. a week and they are generally the super obese and/or men. That rate of loss would not be healthy or sustainable for the vast majority of people.