Start vitamins before surgery?

shorty71
on 2/26/14 5:39 am - CT
VSG on 04/01/14 with

I've been thinking about starting to take biotin 10,000 mcg now daily. Since it helps with hair loss I feel like maybe starting to take it now will boost my levels and maybe not lose my hair so bad or not at all. Anyone do this as well?  

poet_kelly
on 2/26/14 5:41 am - OH

I didn't, since there is no scientific evidence that taking biotin will prevent telogen effluvium, which is the typical cause of hair loss after surgery.  If you have a biotin deficiency, that will cause hair loss and in that case you should take biotin, but biotin deficiency is very rare and having surgery won't cause such a deficiency.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

(deactivated member)
on 2/26/14 7:15 am

What Kelly said is right.I have read that telogen effluvium,is when trauma happens to the body.It can happen after surgery it can also happen when there is a accident. Our hair is made of protein and losing our hair is just one of the side effects that can happen.

Sheanie
on 2/26/14 6:08 am

Hair loss is from not getting enough protein in your system after surgery.  You can take boatloads of biotin and it won't do one bit of good UNLESS you are taking in LARGE amounts of protein.  More protein than you hear about from your surgeons office, that's for certain.  All the vitamins in the world will not keep or regrow hair unless you take in PROTEIN.

Drink your protein early out, but GET IT IN. 

I.  am.  not.  a.  doctor.

HW 250ish  SW 219  CW 110  LW 100

(deactivated member)
on 2/26/14 6:08 am
Grim_Traveller
on 2/26/14 6:54 am
RNY on 08/21/12