Energy levels post op

Massage_lady
on 9/4/14 11:41 am

I am trying to decide between gastric bypass and gastric sleeve surgery. I am a massage therapist and was wondering if the malabsorption problems with the gastric bypass cause any problems with energy levels? I exercise regularly and have completed 2 mini triathlons (super-sprints)both at over 300lbs. I like to be active and was hoping to get some vet input.

poet_kelly
on 9/4/14 12:06 pm - OH

the malabsorption wouldn't directly affect energy levels.  however, vitamin deficiencies do cause lack of energy, so it's important to take your vitamins regularly and get labs done regularly so you can adjust your vitamins if needed after RNY.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

SkinnyScientist
on 9/4/14 3:44 pm

HI!  I CAN answer this.

I exercised regularly before and after surgery.

Initially (i.e. the first month after surgery) my energy levels were low and I required about 8-12 hours of sleep.

Nine months post op and my energy levels are through the roof!  I wake up on my own after just 6 hours of sleep!  Before surgery, I could not jog/plod/run a 5K (despite step aerobics and tae bo).  After surgery (at 8-9 months) I can jog/plod 4.2 miles without training for it and quickly got up to an 8.5 mile jog.  i am now working on trying to increase my 5K time and do hill work for an upcoming 5K.

I find there is much more "reserves" in the tank.