MODERATE OSTEOARTHRITIS at 57 SURGERY HELP ME?

Karen H.
on 9/12/14 9:54 pm
VSG on 12/08/14

I am a female age 57, in pre op stage. Just wondering if surgery will help my moderate osteoarthritis in my ankles, knees and back? I weigh 235. No other health issues. Any one in this boat? Your story please. Any suggestions? Thanks!!! 

poet_kelly
on 9/12/14 10:24 pm - OH

WLS will help you lose weight.  Losing weight might help your arthritis but it might not.  I have arthritis in my knees and degenerative disk disease in my back.  My knees improved a lot when I lost weight but my back did not.  In fact, it has gotten worse.  I imagine it would be even worse than this if I was still carrying around 150 extra pounds, but losing that weight didn't make my back feel better.

View more of my photos at ObesityHelp.com          Kelly

Please note: I AM NOT A DOCTOR.  If you want medical advice, talk to your doctor.  Whatever I post, there is probably some surgeon or other health care provider somewhere that disagrees with me.  If you want to know what your surgeon thinks, then ask him or her.    Check out my blog.

56sunShine14
on 9/13/14 1:18 am

WLS is not going to take away the arthritis, unfortunately.  I have it throughout my body and have multiple spine issues.  Although it won't take away the arthritis, it should help your joints, (ankles and knees) as you won't be carrying all the weight on them.  It could possibly slow or stop further locations of arthritis, I don't know for sure.

I am hoping for:  less foot pain, my arches have fallen from the weight, I have arthritis on the top of my feet and in some toes.  Less pain all over from the arthritis related issues but it cannot help my spine or neck, those are bone issues.

Even at 235, (how tall are you?), it will most likely provide a lot of relief.