Deciding between bypass or sleeve

LisaKelley
on 7/22/15 11:06 am

Hi everyone,

My name is Lisa and I am new to this.

I am deciding between bypass and sleeve.

I want the results of the bypass, but very scared about malabsorbtion of vitamins.

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Lisa

NYMom222
on 7/22/15 12:02 pm
RNY on 07/23/14

You do have to be diligent with your vitamins, but there are vitamins you should be taking with VSG too. Now that I am a year out (tomorrow! Yay!) I have to say, it is not that bad. You get used to the routine. I chose RNY for several reasons, one main one was that I wasn't sure restriction would be enough to get me where I needed to go. I had stuck to restrictive diets and I still was losing anything significant at this point of my life. I wanted the malabsorption to help get me where I needed to be. Having a large amount to lose I wanted to go the tried and true surgery. I know many people are successful with VSG but I wasn't sure I could be. I also trusted my surgeon, and He thought RNY was best.

Cynthia 5'11" RNY 7/23/2014

Goal reached 17 months. 220lb Weight Loss
Plastic Surgery Dr. Joseph Michaels - LBL and Hernia Repair 2/29/16, Arm Lift, BL, 5/2/16, Leg Lift 7/25/16

#lifeisanadventure #fightthegoodfight #noregrets

Save

Save

LisaKelley
on 7/22/15 12:18 pm

Thanks, did you have any problems with this surgery.  I am now leaning towards it, but so unsure.

(deactivated member)
on 7/22/15 12:37 pm
RNY on 05/04/15

I wanted the VSG, but ultimately went with the RNY because of my severe GERD. The RNY can cure GERD while the VSG can make it worse or cause it in people who haven't had it. I've been off a PPI since the day of surgery with no more nausea spells like I was experiencing multiple times a day due to acid. Without GERD, I undoubtedly would have gone for the VSG.