Binge Eating Disorder

Capegin
on 2/19/16 6:18 am

Hello,

I am a weight loss grad, having had a successful VSG about 18 months ago.  The surgery was a godsend, but now my old eating thoughts and behaviors are back with a vengeance.  I will say, my surgeon and the whole program were amazing, and it was made very clear to me that the surgery is a tool that will NOT fix my head.  I continue to work with a therapist, etc.  

Has anyone here had a diagnosis of Binge Eating Disorder (BED)?  I know that not everyone who is obese or has surgery has BED, and not everyone with BED is obese, but I am hoping to connect with someone who has found a way to manage their BED post surgery.  I have an appointment with an eating disorder clinic today, but I'm anxious with anticipation.

Here I am, 18 months out, and putting on weight rapidly.  My sister's husband recently lost his fight with a very rare and aggressive cancer, and this has been very traumatic for my close knit family.  I think the return of my eating thoughts and behaviors must be linked to that.  I cannot stop.  I just cannot control myself. It's all back. The guilt, the self loathing, the sneaking, the overeating.  I'm limited in how much I can overeat because of my surgery (thank GOD for that), but I still manage to do some damage.  I have continued to work with my therapist, my nutritionist, and my surgeon, and my PCP, but I just don't feel like it's enough.  

I guess my question is, does this seem to be similar to other people's experiences?  I often find myself thinking, "Get a grip, you don't have BED.  You're just not trying hard enough."  Literally, every night when I go to bed I coach myself and say that the next day will be different.  And then it isn't.  I am a mom now, and I know my kids are starting to catch on to my behaviors.  I don't want them to see this because I want to model a healthy relationship with food.