What did you do or wish you had done to get ready?

thegarv
on 8/24/17 5:34 pm

For those of you who are getting ready for surgery and for those who have had it...what are some things you are doing to get ready for it and what are some things you wish you had done knowing what you do after surgery? Example: I'm weaning myself off caffeine (OY!) and soda; buying small food containers, trying different protein powders.

dmcs85
on 8/24/17 6:20 pm

I am having surgery Monday and I have been preparing for 7 months. I will tell you I did little changes at a time to not overwhelm myself. The past week I have been getting down to the nitty gritty.....got a mesh strainer, measuring cups, cleared out a specific cabinet for my "tools", bought a little one serving blender, etc.....I feel like something that help prepare me from the beginning is starting counceling and this support group and little healthy changes at a time. Also being honest with my councelor and on this support group to get honest feedback to help me conquer this journey. YOU GOT THIS :-)

peachpie
on 8/24/17 6:51 pm - Philadelphia, PA
RNY on 04/28/15

Prior to I did two things: cut out any type of sugared beverages and limited carbs to one carb per meal. (I.e.- pasta or garlic bread- not both) Any other changes I did After.

5'6.5" High weight:337 Lowest weight:193/31 BMI: Goal: 195-205/31-32 BMI

Insert Fitness
on 8/24/17 7:44 pm

Congratulations on your surgery!

I really tried to practice the post op behaviours I was told would lead to long term success. I didn't do them all at once, but I kept adding them. Things like:

eliminating alcohol

reducing carbs

eliminating cafeine

stop drinking with meals

journaling everything I ate(this was major to help identify patterns and where behaviour needed modification)

I found getting a handle on the above really helped as surgery itself is overwhelming enough.

good luck! You got this!

RNY Sept 8, 2016