Need a New Anti Depressant....

ThisIsMyUserName
on 8/17/11 9:29 am

Hello,

I am pre op and presently taking 300mg of Wellbutrin (generic equivalent per day.) I began taking it in 2008 due to severe depression. I got the script from my PCP, not a Psychologist. It was his opinion that due to my obesity, Wellbutrin would serve me the best as it was an anti depressent and also offered some beneficial component of weight loss (I don't recall what.) Initially I felt more energized and only moderately better...in terms of mood. I got pregnant with my second child and quit cold turkey throughout my pregnancy and breastfeeding (bout 2 years.) I am now back on Wellbutrin and have been on long enough for there to be a theraputic does in my system yet I have no relief. The depression is not even marginally better and that teeny tiny bit of energy I got frm it the last go round is nowhere to be found. I have a certain degree of anxiety coupled with very serious depression. I am not sucidal but I do have an eternal feeling of hopelessness. I have read on these boards about a person or possibly more than one person who did fine on wellbutrin...then didn't. I know I need a doctor and etc etc. But can anyone point me in the right direction as to what meds to ask my doc for?? I did a basic search online and I kept ended up on site for people with other more serious disorders. For instance one board was for bi polar people. So the well butrin topic was heavily laced with suggestions for a ton of other meds that I don't ned.

I learned from reading on the board that the Wellbutrin will likely not suffice after surgery due to the way it which it is released/absorbed. I have also learned that I will likely lose a lot of hormones when losing the weight after surgery, which could make depression worse. So I would like to get a better handle on the depression prior to surgery....

Fo' Shizzle My Sizzle
on 8/17/11 9:37 am