bad move on my part......

meq815
on 5/31/13 11:21 pm - PA

So, yesterday, as I was getting my nails done and eyebrows waxed, I started having horrific hunger pains- pangs, really- but that intense hunger, where I felt like I was gonna hurt somebody if I didn't eat!  Anyhoo, still being a rather Newbie, I had no snacks on hand, just my water.  When I finally got home, I perfectly poached 2 eggs, and toasted a piece of wheat bread.  I started throwing it down like it was my last meal.  Then BAM.  I literally could not take one more bite.  I got in ~ 1 egg and half  the piece of toast.  It was my first foray with bread.  And, believe me when I tell you, I suffered all night.  Just starting to get some relief this morning.

So, my question is, what about snacks to have on hand, so I don't get to that point again?  I am 5 weeks post DS, and as far as diet, I am unlimited except for nuts, seeds, raw fruits and veg.  Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks!

Corbin Y.
on 6/1/13 12:01 am - New York, NY
DS on 03/26/13

I am now 9 weeks out, and I remember when I thought I was having hunger pangs, and did exactly what you did, and overate. When we have the DS, we stop producing ghrelin, which creates hunger pains.  What you were most probably feeling was acid reflux, or possibly gas.  At 6 weeks out, wheat bread is a MAJOR no - no.  Our bodies cannot digest the carbs in bread, hence your suffering.  

Did your Dr. prescribe you an acid inhibitor, such as Nexium or Prevacid?  If not, contact your doc about getting on one right away - it makes a world of difference.  

Snacks to have on hand depend on your intolerances.  I am intolerant to artificial sweeteners, lactose, and nuts, which limits my choices.  I still have in my fridge cubes of ham, mozzarella sticks (low lactose), and hummus.