Contemplating the second stage of the DS..help!

bhern
on 9/4/13 4:20 pm
DS on 01/21/14

It's been awhile since I've posted anything in the DS forum but it's because I've been hanging out on the VSG forum for the last 10 months or so. Just a quick history lesson: I made an educated decision to have the DS because I was a 400+ lb. SMO woman and knew that this was the only surgery that would allow me to achieve my weight loss goals. Last November I was prepared to come out of surgery and start living the DS life, instead I came out and had to start learning about the VSG, which I knew nothing about other than it was a restrictive only procedure. Post-op I was told my DS would be in 2 phases, so for now, I had the sleeve. Part 2 would come after I had lost 100 pounds or after a year, whichever came first. So fast-forward 10 months. I've lost 120 pounds and presently I weigh 238 pounds. I still have a long way to go. Now I'm trying to decide if I'm going to go ahead with the second part of the DS or continue my journey without it. My friends and family are telling me how great I look and that I don't need to have another surgery. They don't understand that 238 lbs is still considered morbidly obese. All my co-morbidities are not gone and I realize they may never go away. However,  I'm worried that I will not reach my goals with the sleeve alone. I already see that my weight loss is slowing down. I bounce back and forth with the same 2 pounds for weeks, even though I'm sticking to my plan. Less than 800 calories, low carbs, drinking 100 oz of water and 80+ grams of protein every day. I work out 4-5 times a week too. So, I guess I'm just asking for some sound advice. Should I stay the course I'm on and hope that I can lose the last 100 pounds (I would like to be at 145-150 lbs) or should I go for the second stage of the DS. Sorry this was long, I've had all this going through my mind and I know you guys are a great "sounding" board.

Goodnight!!