Seeking Insight: Please Help!

Kelleigh710
on 7/8/15 7:41 pm, edited 7/8/15 7:55 pm

Hi Everyone,

It has been years since I have been on these boards and it feels good to be back again and reaching out to a whole new group of people: those with a duodenal switch. My story is somewhat long, heartbreaking, and messy, but it's my story and I own it. I'm hoping these boards are still the judgment-free place they used to be, so here it goes:

When I was 17 years old, I weighed 315 pounds. My parents were concerned for me. I had been a big kid all my life, despite their best efforts to keep me on strict diets, which I complied with. A friend of a friend had a gastric bypass surgery and my parents thought he looked great. The next thing I knew, I was meeting with the surgeon. I turned 18 years old on June 2, 2000. On June 4th, I graduated high school, and on June 25th, I had an OPEN RNY gastric bypass. I was able to eat like a normal person, even after surgery. My lowest weight was 265 pounds and the re-gain started happening. I reached out to my physician who simply labeled me as non-compliant, but due to his high mortality rate and complication rate, he no longer has a license to practice medicine in the state of Massachusetts so I would venture to say his opinion of me is incorrect.

In 2010, the re-gain was too much for me to bare and I looked into a band over bypass. Despite the fact that the failure rate for the band was a statistical nightmare and the band proved an ill-fit for morbid and super-morbidly obese people, I had it in my mind that I could beat the odds. Dumb, dumb, dumb. I had a laparoscopic gastric banding in July of 2010. Did I lose weight? Sure, from dieting and starving myself. I never hit my "sweet spot" and after an episode of a tight band due to a large fill, I was scared. The band became a choke collar and I started eating slider foods. Even with my band completely empty now, I have a hard time with certain foods. I have developed reflux as well.