6 weeks out on Friday - Exercise and Fitness Questions!

onebigcelt
on 12/31/13 12:18 am - midlothian, VA
RNY on 11/22/13

Hi I will be 6 weeks out from surgery on Friday and I want to start hitting the gym to accelerate my weight loss and fitness strength and stamina.

I am a martial artist and I study Aikido and I am exactly 6 months out from a difficult 1 hr long black belt test in the summer heat of South Carolina.

I started my weight loss surgery journey last year trying to get approved. Since Oct of 2012 I have lost 111 lbs 354 from 465.  I had surgery a year later.. 6 weeks ago. Nov 2013

I am currently able to do about 30 mins of steady hard lap swimming with fins for extra resistance and walk a 20 min mile but I want to get back to weight lifting and getting my burst stamina ramped up.

I hate walking I love exercising with other people ... aka Martial Arts it keeps me motivated.

Aikido is very much on the level of Judo and Jujitsu when it comes to how physical it is.

So this is where you come in. What can I do and when can I do it my Surgeon says I can return to Aikido at 6 weeks weeks but the bariatric nurse doesn't want me doing much at all other than walking.

Questions.... ( I am 42 and I have been doing heavy sports my whole life, knee is busted and ankle is weak but joints feeling so much better.

1) Nurse wants me to do 75 grams of protein a day is that enough to grow muscle or just maintain it.

2) Do I need to take amino acids on top of  protein and vitamins

3) When can I start working on my stomach muscles

4) When can I start taking falls in Martial Arts (Controlled falling on the ground after being thrown)

5) When can I start lifting heavy weights

6) My knee and joints stink and hurt a lot but not as much back and hip pain have been going away. Will the pain continue to reduce over time or do I need to do physical therapy to retrain my new body

7) When should I try running?

8) Can I start something like a p90x yet?