Lymphedema Question

SWJ_81
on 8/30/09 10:54 am - AR
I am fairly new to the OH website and also to investigating WLS.  I have been checking many of the forums, just to see what common opinions, experiences, etc. are being discussed.  I am curious about lymphedma.   Is it suspected that past WLS may have brought on many of the cases or was it just coincidence?  I would love people's opinions.  I am trying to not only educate myself on the actual procedures available, but also on after-surgery lifestyle and possible side-effects.  Thanks for any information/opinions that you're willing to provide.
maris_38
on 8/30/09 12:00 pm - Orlando, FL
Lymphedema has a myriad of causes. The medical profession divides them into primary (Lymphedema occurring on its own) or secondary ****urring because of another disease of condition).

Primary Lymphedema is usually genetic/hereditary.

Causes of secondary Lymphedema include:

* Caused by surgery - this can be any surgery that removes lymph nodes or damages the lymphatic system.  The lymph system is close beneath the skin. Removal of lymph nodes in the armpits of breast cancer patients is a big cause of trunk/arm Lymphedema.  Knees, groin, elbow area, armpit and neck and central abdomen are areas that carry a lot of lymphatic vessels (where they feed into Lymph nodes) - cutting in those areas runs a risk of damage to the lymph system that can cause Lymphedema.

While I'm not a medical professional (just someone with LE who checked this before surgery) - it is highly doubtful that WLS would cause LE - especially the lap procedure.  Vertical cuts do not cross the lymph vessels and would therefore damage fewer of them - possibly no damage and likely not enough to cause LE.  Horizontal cuts I've been warned to avoid (ie: the type of circumferential incisions involved in a lower-body lift).

*Radiation therapy for cancer - and cancer itself can cause LE

* Infection (though this is not typical in the developed world)\