Surgery in Mexico ?

Tenacious88
on 12/21/11 7:40 am - Fort Lauderdale, FL
VSG on 02/05/14

Hi to all: After reading about some OH members having surgery in Mexico I have some questions and concerns.

1- How does one have a follow-up visit with the doctor ?

2- What happens if you have a problem with the surgery ?

3- Who pays if you have to go back to Mexico, for re-surgery ?

4- Is it safe to be in Mexico ?

5- Is the hospital fully equipped to handle any emergency you may have ?

All of these questions and concerns, all OH members should think about before going to Mexico for surgery.

I'm a newbie to OH, that's why I bring up these questions, I want to be fully informed about everything that happens in the WLS world. I have not had WLS yet, still waiting for approval from my ins.co.

Hope to hear from you.

Tenacious 88 (FL)

docd
on 12/22/11 12:04 am - AZ
I might see doing dental work or maybe even a nose job in Mexico, but not major  abdominal surgery.
It will probably turn out OK.

PROBABLY.

But if there are issues, you are on your own, unless they want to help you.
You have very few rights legally in that situation.
So they don't have malpractice insurance (or insurers breathing down their neck to do things right and keep up with the current medical knowledge) and they "pass the savings on to you"!

This will be one of those topics where everyone sees it black  or white. You will have a lot of people tell you they did great down there. I have some patients that did real well.
But you have to live with the worst case scenario and say "What if?"

I'm a cash pay and looked at it. I couldn't get past the fact that it's Mexico. Basically a third world country, with very little respect for human rights or anything Gringo after you have given them your money.

Now if you are of Mexican heritage................
"Future's so bright, I gotta wear shades!"

highest weight : 428   Banded 11/3/2011 surgery weight : 386
cabin111
on 12/22/11 1:44 am