The thought of eating makes me physically ill.

(deactivated member)
on 6/4/12 3:41 am - Romulus, MI
RNY on 04/25/12
Hello Everyone,

This is my 1st time posting on this forum for mental health. My name is Susie and I had RNY done on 4/25/12.

The funny thing is, I work in the mental health field and I do have what I call a "Life Coach" a.k.a. therapist. 

So, here is my short version of my issue...I know that I need to go and see my therapist but, I am embarrassed to make an appointment! Of course I only visit her when I am having a crisis, that is what I pay her for...right? So, why am I so nervous about making the call? The answer is because I have been so good with reaching my goals and we had discussed me having the RNY and all of the changes that I would have to make and now I am having difficulties following through.

Whenever I smell food, see food or hear people talking about food, I get physically ill! I know this sounds crazy because food used to be my very best friend! When I try to eat anything, even yogurt...I feel as though it is strangling me and my throat feels like there is a blockage and I honestly get a massive fast headache...like I am losing oxegen.

I went to my surgeon's office last Friday and he did check me out to see if I had a stricture, which I do not have. He then told me that there is nothing physically going on that should prevent me from trying new foods and actually not getting physically sick. He believes that I have some sort of "wierd" mental aversion to food. REALLY!!! I already knew that.

Has anyone else experienced this after surgery? Please do not suggest protein drinks or powders, the thought of them make me gag. Somebody else suggested that I take 1/2 of a xanax (for anxiety) a 1/2 hour prior to eating, to relax myself and possibly take the anxiety away. I may try this later today, seeing as how I only have had 2 ounces of 0% Fage yogurt and a 6 once cup of coffee.